From the Mouth of the Stars III: A Heart Chambered with Sins and Sorrows

upon my head
rests your hand

and you

who have lived the lives of a hundred men
look down
and bless

me
with a smile
in my naivety
I am the only one who stands
in the sea of people whose
heads bow
knees buckle in
your presence

 

me

 

in my naivety
who is yet to believe
or understand the words
of prophets

 

and
you
with a heart
chambered with sins and sorrows
whose every beat
is a reminder of deeds
which command the awe of this sea
whose every beat
is a reminder of guilt
that is yet to come

 

and
me
who will be there
when the last drop of that compassion
is swallowed

Leave a Reply

